top of page
Search
  • Mrs. Smith

To my students...From your biggest fan

Updated: Oct 7, 2020

Dear students,


You are my WHY. Every morning, I wake up thinking about the stress that awaits me in the school building. I drag myself out of bed and get ready. I stare in the mirror as I brush my teeth thinking, "What will happen today?" The drive to school is long and full of many thoughts... will my lesson plan go okay? Will my students feel safe? Will my students have appropriate behavior? Will I be treated with respect from my colleagues? Will I give my colleagues the respect they deserve? My life is consumed with thoughts about my job.


You see, kiddos, although the world seems to think teachers have an easy job- we get breaks and holidays off- they don't seem to understand that work never stops. During quarantine, I worried. Were you all getting enough to eat? Were you all getting that positive reinforcement we thrive off of in the classroom? Were you continuing to make progress? There were days that I cried once I got off a video chat. During our summers off, I think about you all- what were you doing, what were the stories you wanted to share with your friends, were you doing more than staying on your technology? The world thinks I'm sitting on my tushy (you all love this word) and basking in the freedom of the break. In fact, I was creating lesson plans all through the summer. I knew what I wanted to do as soon as we returned to face-to-face instruction. All the while, I worried and fretted. My anxiety flew through the roof. I didn't stop thinking about YOU.


But then, something amazing happened. The buses pulled up to the back door. The bus doors opened. The first student stepped off the bus, eyes wide, and I knew you were smiling under that mask. As soon as I saw you all, my worries went away. I was Mrs. Smith again. I was the funny, cool, and crazy teacher.


Every day is filled with worries and self-doubt. I've always battled with my self-confidence. I'm one of those people who needs reassurance that she is doing an okay job. But, you know what? As soon as I get up in front of you, I feel free as a bird. I feel confident and free. Did you know, I don't act like that with my friends? I know, crazy right?


My students, YOU make other teachers' days. They love you. Because unlike their students, you spread kindness everywhere you go.


Now students, there are some crazy people in the world. Those are the people that see you as different. Oh honey, you have people in your corner. Those people fight for you to be seen as equal- the same- NOT different. Although you may learn with more support than a friend would, you are entitled to the same opportunities. You are entitled to the same love. You are entitled to have a world surrounded by people who accept different and who fight for you. Those are the people you want in your corner. Don't worry, I will ALWAYS fight for you. Throughout your life, you will have a team- a school team, a home team, a post-graduation team, and more. These teams are here for you- lean on them.


My life would be boring without you. Though people may think you are different, I see you as BETTER. I see you as unique, just like the rest of us. If someone calls you different, know that doesn't mean less. That means unique. And, unique means BETTER. The more unique you are, the better life will be. Who wants to be a plain and boring person? The world needs a little more uniqueness- I'll be right there with you.


Although I may not get to say it each day, know I have so much love for you. You have made me the teacher I am today. You help me grow each day. My life is a whole lot brighter because YOU are in it.


“By being yourself you put something wonderful in the world that was not there before.” – Edwin Elliott


Mrs. Smith




166 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page